Can You Say..CAJUN…Cajun Christmas!!

So tonite, the girls and I went ride around Lafayette to chk out what kind of Christmas spirit (aka light display) the town had…To my surprise, there was not much going on out there to trigger too much excitement…I was kinda bummed out!! We rode around for like an hour and a half, using approx. 2 gallons of gas..all for what?!?! I can remember as a kid taken those same rides and gettin freakin tired of seeing so many different arsenals of lights…So, what exactly does it take to host such Christmas spirit?? I always thought as a kid that without all the lights, some decorations, and a tree with presents beneath..it wasnt Christmas!! But is that it, is it that people these days have come to despise everything that Christmas entails, so in return they refuse to participate in the joys of Christmas spirit in hopes of forgetting its here?? Where is the love people?? You remember the 2 hour rides as a kid endlessly searching for any and every house with even one strand of lights on it!! Lets revive the Christmas joy here, at least for the sake of the little ones!!

Anywho, with all that, there was one house that was decked out beyond reason…I was excited, and I believe it made the whole trip worth it!!! Now this wasnt your typical Christmas decor here…I was reminded exactly where I live, in the DIRTY SOUTH!! Here in Lafayette, a term has been coined for the residents ..CAJUNS…Sure, some of you have seen movies like the Waterboy that depict us as being snake eatin’, alligator raisin’, toothless, swamp livin’ rednecks…On my part, not so much but I cant take a stand for some of the others here…And with this house, you shall see the Cajun in them!! So anyone up for some nice lil lighted reindeers, plump snowman, and cute, snuggly elves..NAHHHH!!! ALLIGATORS AND CRAWFISH…HALE YEAH!!!!!

What exciting, Christmas experiences/ritauls did you have as a young one??

~ by caskeyshane on December 16, 2006.

One Response to “Can You Say..CAJUN…Cajun Christmas!!”

  1. Dude I’m with you! What the hell?!?!? Like our house is the only lighted house on the street lit up! I don’t know what’s going on. I remember the same thing growing up, piling into the car, rolling around ‘ooooing and ahhhhing’ at the lights. Dude, nobody does it like they did back in the day…which was a Wednesday by the way.

Leave a comment